Short Conversation

“Where do you see yourself in 10 years’ time?”

I wanted to say “Most probably dead. Six feet under. Resting in peace.”
But instead, I told him “Probably… contributing to the society in my own little way.”

He was quiet, so I asked him back.
“What about you? Where do YOU see yourself in 10 years’ time?”

His look was intense.
He said slowly, “Probably… married to my amazing wife, having beautiful children, living in a cosy house that is our home and having an awesome career, and in the pink of health!”

He was still looking at me. I looked away at the horizon, where the sky meets the sea.
“That’s a tough one. But who doesn’t want that?”

“Well,” he said, “I think I’m on track. I’m with you, aren’t I?”

What do you think?

